Jump to content


Hicks becomes 2nd consecutive winner of the FASTRAK 8th Annual UBB at Princeton!!

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 fastrakpr


    Insane Racer

  • Members
  • 1,374 posts

Posted 05 August 2018 - 12:20 AM

Hicks becomes 2nd consecutive winner of the FASTRAK 8th Annual UBB at Princeton!!
***FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE*** To Media and General Public 
FASTRAK Companies Int’l PR - August 5th, 2018 By: Wesley Outland
(PRINCETON, WEST VIRGINIA) – The State of Wild, Wonderful West Virginia was heartbroken in April 2010 with the tragic incident of the Upper Big Branch coal mines disaster that took 29 hardworking souls, since 2011 at the famous 3/8th mile Princeton Speedway nestled off I-77 in West Virginia pays respects to these individuals and their fanlies with the UBB 29 Memorial Race yearly. The weather was spectacular and another great crowd witnessed the 8th Annual events featuring round #9 of the FASTRAK Racing Series powered by Chevrolet Performance for the $3000 to win 40 lap feature. #55 Benji Hicks was the defending winner of this event from 2017, what seemed like a sweep night for #12 Brandon Umberger was stalled in the feature as Hicks would hold off all comers in an early restart to win the UBB Memorial Race for the second year in a row. 
#12 Brandon Umberger was the VP Racing Fuels QUICKTIME qualier and Money Dash winner setting him up to be on the pole for the 40 lap feature race. After the special evening of opening ceremoies was truly special with the driver's circle prayer and tribute song for the 29 fallen miners from the Upper Big Branch coal mine accidents. Umberger woukd get the jump on the start beside #39 Henry Hornsby III at the start and sail away. Umberger would be the front man when the first caution would fall after #22c Tate Hughes cut down a tire in turn two. On the lap 13 restart Umberger would be stuck in a four-wide battle for the lead and three wide on back roaring into turn one. Hicks would capatlize on this opportunity staying to the outside and clearing everyone coming after him like Umberger, #4 Matthew Nance, #002 Tyler Arrington and #75 Brett Hamm. 
A late caution would come out on lap 28 with a 12 lap shootout after #55 Matt Long stalled off turn two staging up a shootout, the restart would ensue but honestly the #55 was absoultely strong as Hicks would take the checkered flag for his first FASTRAK Racing Series powered by Chevrolet Performance touring win of 2018 season and becoming the only driver to repeat back to back in the 8th Annual UBB 29 Miners Memorial Race at Princeton Speedway. #12 Umberger was happy and felt solid with his night settling for the runner up spot. #4 Matthew Nance would take the 3rd postion for a good points race night and #002 Tyler Arrington and #39 Henry Hornsby III rounded out the top five finishers. 
VP Racing Fuels QUICKTIME Qualifying Results - #12 Brandon Umberger 17.001, #39 Henry Hornsby III 17.132, #55 Benji Hicks 17.173, #4 Matthew Nance 17.315, #002 Tyler Arrington 17.352, #22c Tate Hughes 17.444, #75 Brett Hamm 17.459, #2 Michael Bland 17.462, #33g Shane Greco 17.538, #5 Hunter Stinnett 17.542, #69* Carder Miller 17.634, #55 Matt Long 17.663, #29 Eddie Hambrick 17.682, #17t Trey Watson 17.731, #d52 Brad Basey 17.834, #86 Brandon Riffe 17.931, #52m Jonathon Miracle 18.162 
8th Annual UBB 29 Memorial Race Preliminary Recap - UBB 10 Lap Money Dash Winner - #12 Brandon Umberger - UBB Heat Race Winners- #75 Brett Hamm & #5s Hunter Stinnett 
8th Annual UBB 29 Miners Memorial Race Results from Princeton, WV Speedway (pending tire sample results) 
1st #55 Benji Hicks, 2nd #12 Brandon Umberger, 3rd #4 Matthew Nance, 4th #002 Tyler Arrington, 5th #39 Henry Hornsby III, 6th #75 Brett Hamm, 7th #2 Michael Bland, 8th #69* Carder Miller, 9th #29 Eddie Hambrick, 10th #5s Hunter Stinnett, 11th #17t Trey Watson, 12th #52m Jonathon Miracle, 13th #d52 Brad Basey, 14th #33g Shane Greco, 15th #55 Matt Long, 16th #22c Tate Hughes 17th #86 Brandon Riffe 
The NEXT tentative stop for the FASTRAK Racing Series powered by Chevrolet Performance will be on Saturday August 25th with the return for the tour at the longest running active track in Georgia the 5/16th mile Toccoa Raceway in Toccoa, Georgia for a $2000 to win event. 
Check out the official website for the FASTRAK Racing Series at www.fastrakracing.com and continue to follow our social media networks for the FASTRAK Racing Series. Like and Follow our Fan Page on Facebook plus follow @FASTRAK_SE and/or @FASTRAK_MOV on Twitter to get up to the minute news and details as they become available.
The 2018 marketing partners for the FASTRAK Racing Series are Chevrolet Performance, Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuel, VP Racing Lubricants, FloRacing, Swift Springs, MyRacePass, TNT Race Cars, Arizona Sport Shirts, Simpson Safety Equipment, Rockauto.com, Dirt Late Model Magazine and Thomas Clarke Performance.


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users